Galway’s Lovelass wins WAC golf tourney; Duanesburg takes team title

TOWN OF JOHNSTOWN — The Duanesburg Eagles turned in a team total of 354 to win the Western Athletic Conference golf championship tournament Thursday at Hales Mills Country Club.

Galway’s Ryan Lovelass won medalist honors with his round of 79, while Duanesburg’s Dylan Carlson shot 82 and Canajoharie’s Jack Krug was third with his round of 85. Schoharie’s John Polley and Duanesburgh’s Matt Coons round out the top five with rounds of 86 and 88 respectively.

Fort Plain’s Taylor Gifford and Duanesburg’s John Grant tied for sixth with their rounds of 89, while Fort Plain’s Evan Crouse and Galway’s Josh Loveless tied for eighth with 91s and Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Von Baker placed 10th with a 92.

Middleburgh’s Lily Rossman won the girls title with a round of 97. Duanesburg’s Chloe Galvin was second with a 104, with Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Josie Brundage third with a 109 and Middleburgh’s Isabel Skowfoe placed fourth with a round of 112.

Schoharie placed second in the team standings with a 372, followed by Galway (377), Canajoharie (381), Fort Plain (383), Fonda-Fultonville (401), Middleburgh (407), Berne-Knox-Westerlo (413), Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville (423) and Northville/Mayfield (434).

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply