Northville sweeps Section II honors in Class D

Northville’s Brytney Moore (16) is challenged by Poland’s Amanda Sweet (17) as she moves the ball upfield during a NYSPHSAA Class D semifinal match at Homer High School on Nov. 16. Moore recently was named Section II Class D Player of the Year. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the Section II all-star team at the Section II Girls Soccer Banquet on Dec. 8.

Northville swept the top three awards in Class D, with Brytney Moore named Player of the Year, Emily Shepard earning Goalkeeper of the Year and Doug Hammons claiming Coach of the Year. The Falcons won the Section II Class D title and reached the state semifinals.

Northville also had Grace Forsey named to the all-section team.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Alexis Mumford also was named to the Class D all-section team.

In Class B, Johnstown’s Carolyn Fitzpatrick, Broadalbin-Perth’s Jackie Fisher, Johnstown’s Hope Buboltz were named to the all-section team.

Mayfield’s Lindsey Hampton and Canajoharie’s Reagan Sala were named to the all-section team in Class C

Bethlehem’s Claire Hutton was named Class AA Player of the Year, while Bethlehem’s Tom Rogan was named Coach of the Year. Guilderland’s Molly DiCaprio was named Class AA Goalkeeper of the Year.

Bethlehem had JoAnne VanRoyen and Ruth Hotaling named to the Class AA all-section team, while Shenendehowa’s Sophia DeMura and Danielle Casey also were honored.

Rounding out the Class AA all-section team were Colonie’s Ianah Mackey, Shaker’s Olivia Martuscello, Guilderland’s Margot Nezaj, Niskayuna’s Olivia Piraino and Saratoga Springs’ Autumn Soukup.

In Class A, Mohonasen’s Alex Skoda and Liv Raucci shared the Player of the Year award, while Mohonasen’s Clint DeMyer was named Coach of the Year.

Troy’s Madison Rifenberick was named Class A Goalkeeper of the Year.

Bethlehem also had Megan Hart and Izzy O’Clair named to the Class A all-section team.

Rounding out the Class A all-section team were Queensbury’s Brigid Duffy and Izzy Dennison; Averill Park’s Jessica Haskin and Sydney Haskin; Scotia-Glenville’s Rylee O’Connor and Megan Steele; Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Hannah Ashcraft; and South Glens Falls’ Jaime DeSimone.

The Class B top awards went to Schalmont’s Sophia Cassano (Player of the Year), Mechanicville’s Savannah Bowie (Goalkeeper of the Year) and Schuylervlle’s Paul Rogan (Coach of the Year).

Mechanicville’s Ryleigh Hopeck, Brynn Murphy and Jada Brown were named to the Class C all-section team, while Schalmont’s Madison Byrnes and Ashley Cirilla also were honored.

Four other schools had multiple players named to the all-section team in Class B.

Schuylerville’s Cassandra Cooper and Brooke Keefer; Holy Names’ Grace Field, Ava Panto and Marissa DeMartino; Catskill’s Katie Bulich and Maci Mosher; and Greenville’s Molly Quinn and Kaitlyn Silk all were named to the Class B all-section team.

Rounding out the Class B all-section selections were Greenwich’s Molly Brophy, Hoosick Falls’ Maggie Brown, Cohoes’ Shannon Cepiel, Tamarac’s Sophia Champagne, Catholic Central’s Emily Drake and Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk’s Hailey Mitchell.

Stillwater, which won its second straight Class C state title this fall, had Brooke Pickett and Keelyn Peacock share Player of the Year honors in Class C. Stillwater coach Christine Ihnatolya was named Class C Coach of the Year.

The Warriors also had Teya Staie and Devon Wagner named to the all-section team.

Bolton-Warrensburg’s Jordan Barker was named Class C Goalkeeper of the Year. Bolton-Warrensburg also had Leah Monroe and Gabs Mowery named to the all-section team.

Voorheesville and Schoharie had multiple players named to the Class C all-section team.

Amanda Gillenwalters, Kaelyn Lawson and Megan Romansky were named to the all-section team for Voorheesville, while Schoharie’s Megan Krohn and Katelyn Krohn were named to the all-section team.

Rounding out the Class C all-section team were Cambridge’s Vanessa Evans and Lilly Phillips; Maple Hill’s Alayna Fletcher and Kylie Roloson; Lake George’s Kylie Mann and Gabby Marchello; Duanesburg’s Olivia Harris; and Chatham’s Julia Rose and Caroline Paolucci.

In Class D, Germantown’s Riley Gibbons and Emma Howard; Fort Ann’s Becky Ostrander and Sarah Paige; New Lebanon’s Sydney Smith and Emily Schafer; and Saratoga Central Catholic’s Lauren Maher rounded out the all-section team.

2019 Section II Girls Soccer All-Stars

Class AA

Player of the Year: Claire Hutton (Bethlehem).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Molly DiCaprio (Guilderland).

Coach of the Year: Tom Rogan (Bethlehem).

All-Section Team: Danielle Casey (Shenendehowa), Sophia DeMura (Shenendehowa), Ruth Hotaling (Bethlehem), Ianah Mackey (Colonie), Olivia Martuscello (Shaker), Margot Nezaj (Guilderland), Olivia Piraino (Niskayuna), Autumn Soukup (Saratoga Springs), JoAnne VanRoyen (Bethlehem).

Class A

Players of the Year: Liv Raucci (Mohonasen), Alex Skoda (Mohonasen).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Madison Rifenberick (Troy).

Coach of the Year: Clint DeMyer (Mohonasen).

All-Section Team: Hannah Ashcraft (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Izzy Dennison (Queensbury), Jaime DeSimone (South Glens Falls), Brigid Duffy (Queensbury), Megan Hart (Mohonasen), Jessica Haskin (Averill Park), Sydney Haskin (Averill Park), Izzy O’Clair (Mohonasen), Rylee O’Connor (Scotia-Glenville), Megan Steele (Scotia-Glenville).

Class B

Player of the Year: Sophia Cassano (Schalmont).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Savannah Bowie (Mechanicville).

Coach of the Year: Paul Rogan (Schuylerville).

All-Section Team: Molly Brophy (Greenwich), Jada Brown (Mechanicville), Maggie Brown (Hoosick Falls), Hope Buboltz (Johnstown), Katie Bulich (Catskill), Madison Byrnes (Schalmont), Shannon Cepiel (Cohoes), Sophia Champagne (Tamarac), Ashley Cirilla (Schalmont), Cassandra Cooper (Schuylerville), Marissa DeMartino (Holy Names), Emily Drake (Catholic Central), Grace Field (Holy Names), Jackie Fisher (Broadalbin-Perth), Carolyn Fitzpatrick (Johnstown), Ryleigh Hopeck (Mechanicville), Brooke Keefer (Schuylerville), Hailey Mitchell (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk), Maci Mosher (Catskill), Brynn Murphy (Mechanicville), Ava Panto (Holy Names), Molly Quinn (Greenville), Kaitlyn Silk (Greenville).

Class C

Players of the Year: Keelyn Peacock (Stillwater), Brooke Pickett (Stillwater).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jordan Barker (Bolton-Warrensburg).

Coach of the Year: Christine Ihnatolya (Stillwater).

All-Section Team: Vanessa Evans (Cambridge), Alayna Fletcher (Maple Hill), Amanda Gillenwalters (Voorheesville), Olivia Harris (Duanesburg), Lindsey Hampton (Mayfield), Katelyn Krohn (Schoharie), Megan Krohn (Schoharie), Kaelyn Lawson (Voorheesville), Kylie Mann (Lake George), Gabby Marchello (Lake George), Leah Monroe (Bolton-Warrensburg), Gabs Mowery (Bolton-Warrensburg), Caroline Paolucci (Chatham), Lilly Phillips (Cambridge), Kylie Roloson (Maple Hill), Megan Romansky (Voorheesville), Julia Rose (Chatham), Reagan Sala (Canajoharie), Teya Staie (Stillwater), Devon Wagner (Stillwater).

Class D

Player of the Year: Brytney Moore (Northville).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Emily Shepard (Northville).

Coach of the Year: Doug Hammons (Northville).

All-Section Team: Grace Forsey (Northville), Riley Gibbons (Germantown), Emma Howard (Germantown), Lauren Maher (Spa Catholic), Alexis Mumford (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Becky Ostrander (Fort Ann), Sarah Paige (Fort Ann), Sydney Smith (New Lebanon), Emily Schafer (New Lebanon).

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply