Northville’s Clapper shares Class D Coach of the Year honors

SARATOGA SPRINGS — Northville’s Steve Clapper shared Class D Coach of the Year honors with Fort Ann’s Rich McCabe at the Section II Boys Soccer Banquet at the Holiday Inn on Dec. 8.

Also earning Coach of the Year honors were Shenendehowa’s Jon Bain (Class AA), Bethlehem’s Phil Ridgway (Class AA), Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Adam Cohen (Class A), Schuylerville’s Dave Gauci (Class B) and Voorheesville’s Willie Sanchez (Class C).

Galway’s Kris Toscano was nominated for Class C Coach of the Year honors, while Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Mark Snell was nominated in Class D.

Fonda-Fultonville was selected for the Class C Sportsmanship Award.

Also earning sportsmanship awards were Guilderland (Class AA), Scotia-Glenville (Class A), Chatham (Class C) and Heatly (Class D).

Niskayuna’s Oscar Mirkovic and Shenendehowa’s Jaylin Sykes shared Class AA Player of the Year honors, while Queensbury’s Teddy Borgos was named Player of the Year in Class A.

Sykes also was named an all-American, marking the first time since 2015 that a Section II player was honored. Sykes, Mirkovic and CBA’s Jack Mendrysa were named to the all-region team and the large-school (Class AA, A) all-state team, along with Borgos and Ballston Spa’s Ethan Shuhart.

Schuylerville’s Zach Saddlemire was named Player of the Year in Class B, Voorheesville’s Shaun Turnbull and Ian Reeve shared the Class C Player of the Year award and Fort Ann‘s Tanner Lunt and Saratoga Catholic’s Dante Marin shared Class D Player of the Year honors.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Kyle Denman and Hunter Monks were among the nominees for Class B Player of the Year, while Galway’s Konstantin Freiderich and Charlie Clarke were nominated in Class C.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Mason Snell and Andrew Snell were nominated in Class D, along with Northville’s Levi Morgan.

Shuhart was named Keeper of the Year in Class AA, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake was named Keeper of the Year in Class A, and Cobleskill-Richmondville’s Nick Beevers and Schuylerville’s Brady Eugair shared the Class B Keeper of the Year award.

Maple Hill’s Aidan Percy was named Keeper of the Year in Class C and Fort Ann’s Adam Winchell was named Keeper of the Year in Class D.

Amsterdam’s Lucca Quatrini was nominated for Keeper of the Year in Class A, Broadalbin-Perth’s Jack Marsden was nominated in Class B and Galway’s Henry Flint was nominated in Class C.

Turnbull and Saddlemire were named to the small-school (Class B, C, D) all-state team.

Also earning small-school all-state honors were Stillwater’s Jack Rubinstein, Lake George’s Ethan Knauf, Mechanicville’s Justin Pugliese, Greenville’s James Mitchell, Maple Hill’s Aidan Percy and Ichabod Crane’s Edgar Gomez.

The Officials Award went to Joe Kokernak and the Golden Thread Award went to Mike Kinnally of Guilderland High School.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply