Area swimmers post solid showings

CLIFTON PARK — Gloversville-Mayfield’s Dane Dillenback posted the top time in the 100-yard butterfly in the swim preliminaries of the Section II Division 2 Boys Swimming and Diving Championships at Shenendehowa High School on Friday.

Dillenback posted a time of 52.34 seconds to finish 2.11 seconds ahead of Albany Academy’s Ivan Young in the prelims.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Matthew Travis (ninth, 1:02.96), Fonda-Johnstown’s Ryan Nawrot (10th, 1:03.06), Amsterdam’s Corey DeLisa (11th, 1:02.64) and Gloversville-Mayfield’s Kazuma Lomanto (13th, 1:01.29) all qualified for the B final in the 100 butterfly. C-FP’s Jenna Trembley (1:09.60) was 22nd and Gloversville-Mayfield’s Anthony Albanese (1:13.86) was 23rd.

Dillenback also was second in the 100 backstroke prelims with a time of 55.63 seconds.

Nawrot (ninth, 1:03.12), Gloversville-Mayfield’s Lukas Oathout (13th, 1:04.88) and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Kurt Sunderland (16th, 1:06.04) all qualified for the B final in the 100 backstroke. DeLisa (22nd, 1:09.04), Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Samantha Barlow (24th, 1:10.44) and Fonda-Johnstown’s D.J. Long (27th, 1:14.99) also competed in the 100 backstroke.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Matthew Travis (2:11.75) earned a spot in the A final of the 200 individual medley after placing seventh in prelims. Gloversville-Mayfield’s Jacob Sweeney (2:16.41) was 12th and Amsterdam’s Alex Slovack (2:19.79) was 16th to qualify for the B final. C-FP’s Jenna Trembley (2:33.05) was 22nd.

“All of our swimmers cut time today and most individuals moved up from there seed places,” Canajoharie-Fort Plain coach Kevin Stuttle said. “We’re looking forward to tomorrow‘s finals.”

In the 100 breaststroke, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Jacob Sweeney placed fifth with a time of 1:05.44 to qualify for the A final. Slovack (11th, 1:09.85) qualified for the B final.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Vincent Rizzo (21st, 1:16.26) and Gloversville-Mayfield’s Logan Oathout (23rd, 1:15.48) also competed in the 100 breaststroke.

In the 200 freestyle, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Kazuma Lomanto (2:00.16) was 10th, Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Ella Robinson (2:03.31) was 14th and Gloversville-Mayfield’s Alex Payne (2:06.26) was 16th. All three will compete in today’s B final.

Gloversville-Mayfield’s Kamden Daniels (2:08.78) was 20th, C-FP’s Kurt Sunderland (2:08.83) was 21st and Amsterdam’s Lucas Sarabia (2:09.24) was 23rd.

Robinson made the B final in the 500 freestyle with a school-record time of 5:30.17 to place 11th in the prelims. Payne (19th, 5:50.23), Sarabia (20th, 5:50.38), Rizzo (21st, 5:55.08) and Daniels (23rd, 6:04.96) also competed in the 500 freestyle.

In the 50 freestyle, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Ben Smouse (10th, 23.98) and Amsterdam’s Samuel VanWie (24.99) both made the B final.

Logan Oathout (25.08) was 17th for Gloversville-Mayfield, while Lukas Oathout (26.15) was 23rd for the Sea Dragons.

Smouse also made the B final in the 100 freestyle, placing 10th in the prelims with a time of 55.10 seconds. VanWie was 11th with a time of 55.26 seconds.

In the 200 medley relay, Gloversville-Mayfield was third, Amsterdam was sixth, Fonda-Johnstown was eighth and Canajoharie-Fort Plain was ninth.

Lukas Oathout, Sweeney, Dillenback and Logan Oathout posted a time of 1:46.18 for the Sea Dragons, while Sarabia, Slovack, DeLisa and VanWie had a time of 1:55.26 for Amsterdam.

Rizzo, Keegan Elston, Ryan Nawrot and D.J. Long posted a time of 2:02.02 for Fonda-Johnstown, while C-FP’s arrow, Sunderland, Travis and Giana Murphy recorded a time of 2:03.54.

“Sectional preliminaries were successful for Fonda-Johnstown. Our 200-yard medley relay is ranked eighth and swimming in finals,” Fonda-Johnstown coach Ken Hoefs said. “Ryan Nawrot was close to qualifying for finals in both events. Vincent Rizzo dropped time in both individual events. Our 200-yard freestyle relay, which is all freshmen, gained valuable experience. We are looking forward to closing out the swim season on a positive note.”

In the 200 freestyle relay, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Logan Oathout, Lukas Oathout, Payne and Daniels posted a time of 1:43.17 to place sixth in the prelims.

C-FP’s Barlow, Giana Murphy, Trembley and Robinson were ninth with a school-record time of 1:49.16, while Fonda-Johnstown’s Long, Peyton Bramer, Alex DeMagistris and Keegan Elston were 11th with a time of 2:01.99.

In the 400 freestyle relay, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Smouse, Lomanto, Sweeney and Dillenback posted a time of 3:29.74 to place second in the prelims. Amsterdam’s VanWie, DeLisa, Sarabia and Slovack posted a time of 3:49.46) to place sixth and C-FP’s Robinson, Sunderland, Trembley and Travis were eighth with a time of 3:51.17. Fonda-Johnstown’s Long, Bramer, Nawrot and Rizzo were 10th with a time of 4:11.32.

In Thursday’s 1-meter diving finals, Gloversville-Mayfield’s Yxlphrm Burke was fifth with a total of 350.35. Gloversville-Mayfield’s Jeremiah Hughes (162.80) and Justin Kemmet (278.35) were ninth and 10th, respectively. The Sea Dragons’ Max Barker was disqualified.

The three-day meet concludes today. The Division 2 (small-school) finals are set to begin at 10 a.m., while the Division 1 (large-school) finals are slated to begin at 3 p.m.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply