Fonda-Fultonville boys claim WAC Tournament title

The Fonda-Fultonville boys bowling team poses with its trophy after winning the Western Athletic Conference Tournament on Monday at Latham Bowl. (Photo submitted)

LATHAM — The Fonda-Fultonville boys bowling team won the team title Monday at the Western Athletic Conference Tournament at Latham Bowl.

The Braves finished with a total of 2,718 pins in the afternoon session, while Middleburgh ws second with a total of 2557. Fort Plain (2,547) was third, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons (2,522) was fourth and Duanesburg (2,390) was fifth.

Canajoharie (2,357) finished sixth, Mayfield (2,300) was seventh, Schoharie (2,222) was eighth, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville (2,180) placed ninth and Berne-Knox-Westerlo (2,089) finished 10th.

Bishop Gibbons’ Alex Belcher had the high series with a 631, while Middleburgh’s Tyler Mann rolled the high game of 238.

Tomek Kowalczyk led Fonda-Fultonville with a 233-626, while Ethan Auspelmyer had a 209-551. Hayden Auspelmyer rolled a 218-515 for the Braves, Dylan Livingston posted a 213-513 and Korey Davis added a 178-513.

Dereck Mereness was Canajoharie’s top bowler, finishing with a 214-592. Riley Montayne added a 179-494 for the Cougars.

In the morning session, the Canajoharie boys posted a 3-1 victory over Mayfield in the position round. Mereness posted a 258-624 for the Cougars, while Barry Yerdon had a 214-602.

R.J. Jackson recorded a 236-558 to lead Mayfield, while Logan VanNostrand had a 176-464.

Canajoharie finished with a 2,445-2,304 advantage in total pins.

In its position-round match, Fort Plain posted a 3-1 victory over Fonda-Fultonville. Zack Young led the Hilltoppers with a 219-612, while Anthony Paradiso had a 226-586. Brady Fureno posted a 225-531 for Fort Plain and Landen VanAlstine added a 214-519.

Korey Davis paced Fonda-Fultonville with a 195-532. Hayden Auspelmyer posted a 182-522 and Dylan Livingston had a 193-517. Ethan Auspelmyer finished with a 210-516 for the Braves and Kowalczyk added a 183-493.

Fort Plain finished with a 2,674-2,580 advantage in total pins.

In the girls tourney, Schoharie won the team title with a total of 2,448 pins in the afternoon session. Middleburgh (2,414) was second, Fort Plain (2,323) was third, Berne-Knox-Westerlo (2,122) was fourth and Canajoharie (1,940) was fifth. Fonda-Fultonville (1,710) placed sixth, OESJ (1,603) was seventh and Mayfield (1,435) was eighth.

Fort Plain’s Gabby Jenks had the high series of the tournament with a 653, while Middleburgh’s Cameryn Shultes had the high game with a 219.

Melissa Bates led Canajoharie with a 192-458, while Chloe Hoffman added a 179-450.

Faith Coleman led Fonda-Fultonville with a 187-456.

In the morning position round, Fort Plain notched a 4-0 victory over Canajoharie. Emma Oldick rolled a 188-505 to lead Fort Plain and Jenks had a 203-500.

Maura DiMezza posted a 152-431 to lead Canajoharie, while Hoffman had a 131-422.

Fort Plain finished with a 2,186-1,908 edge in total pins.

In its position-round match, Fonda-Fultonville lost 3-1 to Berne-Knox-Westerlo. Graycie Swain posted a 162-423 to lead the Bulldogs, Marissa Schanz had a 155-414 and Mackenzie Lawrence added a 138-373.

Coleman had a 167-438 to lead Fonda-Fultonville, Jessie Rowe had a 152-392 and Mackenzie Quillan had a 112-320.

BKW finished with a 1,717-1,693 advantage in total pins.

League awards

Middleburgh’s Jaidyn Rose had the high average for girls with a 189. Fort Plain’s Gabby Jenks had the high series of the regular season with a 651, while Fort Plain’s Rachel Zuppardi had the high game with a 235.

Rose also was named the league MVP. Middleburgh won the girls regular-season title, while Fort Plain was second.

Middleburgh’s Cameryn Shultes and Dani Chichester were named first-team all-stars, while Fort Plain’s Emma Oldick and Jenks also earned first-team honors. Canajoharie’s Melissa Bates also was named a first-team all-stars.

Schoharie’s Truah Mason, Tori Harrington and Mandi Williams all were named second-team all-stars. Rounding out the second-team selections were Zuppardi, Mayfield’s Madison Dunn and Canajoharie’s Chloe Hoffman.

For the boys, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Alex Belcher had a 206 to finish with the league’s high average for the regular season. Belcher also was named the league MVP.

Middleburgh’s Tyler Mann had the high series with a 726, while Fonda-Fultonville’s Hayden Auspelmyer had the high game with a 298.

Middleburgh’s Andrew Miaski and Mann were named first-team all-stars, along with Duanesburg’s Tyler Drexel, Fort Plain’s Brady Fureno and Fonda-Fultonville’s Ethan Auspelmyer.

Fort Plain’s Zack Young and Anthony Paradiso were named second-team all-stars, Rounding out the second team were Middleburgh’s Kyle Miller, Bishop Gibbons’ Evan Sawitzki and Canajoharie’s Dereck Mereness.

Fort Plain won the boys regular-season title, while Middleburgh was second and FFCS was third.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply