Amsterdam girls place three on first team

Several area players were among those named to the Foothills Council girls basketball all-star team.

Amsterdam had three first-team selections as Jackie Stanavich, Andie Gannon and Antonia May all were honored.

Johnstown’s Anna Lee and Broadalbin-Perth’s Makenzie Smith were named second-team all-stars, while Amsterdam’s Sydney Hoefs, Johnstown’s Jaden Wilson and Broadalbin-Perth’s Emma Goebel were named honorable mention.

Queensbury’s Hailey Ballard was named the league’s Most Valuable Player. Hope Sullivan was named a first-team all-star for the Spartans, who won the league title. Queensbury also had Megan O’Connor (second team), Kaileigh Hunt (honorable mention) and Abby Doin (honorable mention) named to the all-star team.

Hudson Falls’ Brinley Inglee rounded out the first-team all-stars.

South Glens Falls’ Sydney Hart and Scotia-Glenville’s Jazmyne Corker were named second-team all-stars.

Glens Falls’ Lexi Cutter and Ashley Bordeaux were named honorable mention, along with South Glens Falls’ Hannah Breen.

Rounding out the honorable mention selections were Schuylerville’s Macey Koval and Scotia-Glenville’s Megan Charnews.

2019-20 Foothills Council Girls Basketball Team

MVP: Hailey Ballard (Queensbury)

First Team

Hope Sullivan (Queensbury), Jackie Stanavich (Amsterdam), Andie Gannon (Amsterdam), Antonia May (Amsterdam), Brinley Inglee (Hudson Falls)

Second Team

Sydney Hart (South Glens Falls), Anna Lee (Johnstown), Makenzie Smith (Broadalbin-Perth), Meghan O’Connor (Queensbury), Jazmyne Corker (Scotia-Glenville)

Honorable Mention

Kaileigh Hunt (Queensbury), Sydney Hoefs (Amsterdam), Jaden Wilson (Johnstown), Lexi Cutter (Glens Falls), Macey Koval (Schuylerville), Hannah Breen (South Glens Falls), Abby Doin (Queensbury), Emma Goebel (Broadalbin-Perth), Ashley Bordeaux (Glens Falls), Megan Charnews (Scotia-Glenville)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply