EFL announces 2021 schedule

The Empire Football League recently held its Annual Meeting in Schenectady and announced major initiatives for 2021:

Strategic Planning: The EFL’s Strategic Plan was updated based on fact-based data to further refine the league’s branding. EFL member teams unanimously affirmed that they are comfortable with the league’s current status, stability and a preferred six team scenario.

EFL Game of the Week: Continue to integrate live video streaming league wide. The EFL Game of the Week enabled each EFL team to acknowledge sponsors as an adjunct to traditional printed media.

This implementation marketed the EFL and provided an opportunity for fans around the world to view EFL game action.

The 2021 EFL season will start Aug. 7 and end Sept. 25 with a bye on Labor Day. The EFL playoffs will take place Oct. 2 and conclude with the EFL Championship Game on Oct. 9.

The 2021 schedule is based on 3 teams in East and West Divisions. The teams in each division play each other twice and cross over to play each other once.

The East Division will consist of the Tri City Spartans, Glens Falls Greenjackets and Plattsburgh North Stars, while the West Division will consist of the Watertown Red & Black, Northern NY Grizzlies and Syracuse Smash.

A tentative game schedule has been developed that will be released later. This allows flexibility due to potential changes in field availability, driven by Covid restrictions/protocols, governed by individual county Public Health Departments.

By Paul Wager