Mohawks sweep Oneonta

AMSTERDAM — The Amsterdam Mohawks defeated the Oneonta Outlaws in both ends of a Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League doubleheader on Thursday at Rao Family Stadium at Shuttleworth Park. The Mohawks won the first game, 10-7, and completed the sweep with a 5-3 victory in the second game.

In the first game, Jake Reinisch was 2-for-3 with a home run, double and five RBIs for Amsterdam.

Bryce Eblin had a home run, three RBIs and scored two runs for the Mohawks, Hunter McLean was 2-for-2 with a double and two runs scored, and Matt Shaw had a double, RBI and scored two runs. C.J. Funk had a double and scored twice for Amsterdam and Stone Miyao added a single.

Riley Hall had a grand slam for Oneonta, while Carson Swank added a solo home run. Brenden Harris was 2-for-3 for the Outlaws, while Keaton Mark and Jacob Hand each had a single and an RBI.

Paul Tammaro and Henry Pelinski each had a single and scored a run for Oneonta.

In the second game, Reinisch had a double, two RBIs and scored a run for Amsterdam to finish the doubleheader with seven RBIs.

Shaw had a double and scored a run for the Mohawks, Brett Coker had a double and scored twice, and Funk had a single and an RBI.

Mark had a home run, two RBIs and scored a run for Oneonta, while Tammaro and Isaiah Corry each had a single and scored a run. Swank added a single for the Outlaws.

Cole Patten earned the win on the mound for Amsterdam, striking out six, walking none, and allowing one hit and one run over five innings.

Amsterdam improved to 27-6 with the two victories and the Outlaws fell to 8-19.

The Mohawks are scheduled host the Mohawk Valley DiamondDawgs tonight at 6:35 p.m. before traveling to Oneonta on Saturday.

First Game

Amsterdam 10, Oneonta 7

Oneonta 240 000 1 — 7 8 0

Amsterdam 205 120 x — 10 8 0

Sandridge and Dickson; Barnum, Frederick (2), Adams (4), Brown (6), Gonzales (7) and Mosher, Phinney (3).

Second Game

Amsterdam 5, Oneonta 3

Oneonta 010 000 2 — 3 4 0

Amsterdam 400 010 x — 5 4 0

Locklear, Jones (5), Paino (6) and Johnson; Patten, Stellpflug (6), Yetter (6) and Langerman.

By Paul Wager