Poland scores first DIRTcar 602 sportsman victory

The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis Garrett Poland poses in Victory Lane after picking up the victory in the 30 lap Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Sportsman feature Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

FULTONVILLE — After two straight rain outs, Glen Ridge Motorsports Park roared back into action Sunday night will a full card of racing sponsored by Catalytic Recover.

Travis Green had the field covered in the Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Sportman, however Green failed post race tech on a rear end parts violation, giving Garrett Poland his first DIRTcar 602 Sportsman feature victory.

Zach Buff picked up his sixth win of the season in the Limited Sportsman division, while Adam Tranka edged Jason Samrov for the Street Stock feature win and Beau Ballard used a mid-race restart to pull away for his fourth win of the season.

Billy Hillman and Dale VanAllen picked up the Dual Cam and Single Cam Mini Stock victories respectfully, while Dan Ballard won the All-Star Slingshot feature and Sloan Cherko picked up the checkers in the Jr. Slingshot main event.

Ricky Quick and Green brought the 602 Sportsman field to the green flag with Green taking the lead over Quick, Cody Ochs and Poland.

The lone caution of the race came on lap 10 when defending track champion Andrew Buff slowed with a flat tire. He made a quick pit stop and returned at the back of the field.

Green maintained and stretched his lead on the field as Quick and Ochs battled side-by-side for second with Poland and Brian Calabrese watching the action in fourth and fifth.

Ochs began to fade back through the field, allowing Poland and Calabrese to move up.

Poland found a way around Quick into second with 10 laps to go but could not run down Green before the checkers dropped over his hood.

After a long wait as the sportsman cars passed through post-race tech, and the disqualification of Green, Poland returned to the frontstretch to celebrate his first DIRTcar Sportsman feature win.

Quick was awarded second, followed by Calabrese, Ted Teal, Brendan Gibbons, Andrew Buff, Carter Gibbons, Al McCoy and Ochs.

Ken Griffin Jr led a tight pack of Pro Stocks through the first nine laps before Chuck McSpirit got by for the lead exiting turn four on lap 10. Ballard slipped into second a lap later and immediately challenged McSpirit for the lead. His challenge was interrupted by the caution for Griffin who spun in turn two.

Ballard drew away on the restart, leaving McSpirit to battled with Andy Graves for the runner-up spot.

Graves got the spot away with two laps remaining to follow Ballard across the line. McSpirit won the battle for third over Jay Fitzgerald and Buck Gasner closed out the top 5.

Jason Samrov and Tranka battled side-by-side on the front end of the street stock main event that was red flagged when Matt Mosher flipped on the back stretch after contact while battle for the fourth spot. Mosher was uninjured in the accident.

Samrov and Tranka resumed their battle on the restart with Tranka with Tranka finding a little extra bite coming down for the checkers and edged Samrov by .124 seconds for the win. Jason Barrett was third followed by Josh Samrov, Kenn Allen, Slater Baker and Mosher.

Danny Ballard got around early-race leader Tavien Blowers with less than five laps remaining and survived a last-lap restart to pick up his fifth win of the season in the All-Star Slingshot division.

racing returns to The Ridge next Sunday on NYSSCA Night featuring a Street Stock FantaSStic 4 Series event along with the third Wheels of Fury Enduro of the season.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park

July 25 results

The Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Sportman: GARRETT POLAND, Ricky Quick, Brian Calabrese, Ted Teal, Brendan Gibbons, Andrew Buff, Carter Gibbons, Al McCoy, Cody Ochs, Travis Green (DQ).

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro Stocks: BEAU BALLARD, Andy Graves, Chuck McSpirit, Jay Fitzgerald, Buck Gasner, Don Collins, Ken Griffin, Jr., Luke Horning.

Limited Sportsman: ZACH BUFF, Taylor Wason, Mike Hill, Luke Horning, James Hinman Jr., Josh Kane, Brock Pickerous, Wesley Sutliff, Tommy D’Angelo.

Street Stocks: ADAM TRANKA, Jason Samrov, Jason Barrett, Josh Samrov, Kenn Allen, Slater Baker, Matt Mosher.

DIRTcar Single Cam Mini Stock: DALE VANALLEN, Shaun Hemstreet, Nathan Sweet, Wayne Russell Jr., Anthony Johnson, Harris St. Andrews, Ray Young.

DIRTcar Dual Cam Mini Stock: BILLY HILLMAN, Jay Ingersoll, Brandon Tyler, Jamie Warner, AJ VanHoesen, Zach McSpirit, Gina Voris.

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating All-Star Slingshots: DAN BALLARD, Tavien Blowers, Kyle Dingman, Nathaniel Boesse, Jim Pollard, Nick Millard, Lucas Duncan, Scott Sprague, Kristin Swartz, Tucker Jones, Adam Fusco.

Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Jr. Slingshots: SLOAN CHERKO, Braxton Martin, Hayden Ackerknecht, Corky Warner.

By Paul Wager