Galway’s Kolpakas named WAC softball MVP

In his first season as coach, Chris LeFever inherited an experienced group at Fonda-Fultonville and it paid off with a Western Athletic Conference softball title.

The Lady Braves, who went 13-5 overall and 7-1 in WAC play, had eight players named to the league all-star team.

Emma Crahan was named of the WAC’s Section II all-stars, while Kamryn Walton, Madeline Mott and Kaylee Egelston were named first-team all-stars. The Lady Braves also had Marilyn Whitcavitch, Emma Powers and Amber Cole named to the second team, and Taylor Ferrucci was named honorable mention.

Galway’s Amber Kolpakas was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

The Golden Eagles, who went 11-5 overall and 6-2 in WAC play, had Trishelle Oliver and Alexis Rose named to the first team. Eliza Eagan, Abi Gullett and Alaina Aschumutat earned second-team honors for Galway, while Jalene Graham was named honorable mention.

Mayfield’s Alexis Broderick and Schoharie’s Maddy Bland were named WAC Section II all-stars.

The Panthers had Marissa Wille and Heather Ginter named first-team league all-stars, while Emily Senese and Katarina Agerter were named to the second team. Kelsey Meca was named honorable mention for Mayfield, which went 13-7 overall and 5-3 in WAC play.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Sara Macrina, Zoey Lounsbury and Ashlee Stevens; Schoharie’s Kimmie Olsen and Amanda Stalker; Canajoharie’s Kirsten Hyney and Tori Blakeslee; Duanesburg’s Victoria Silva; Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Ella Sawitzki and Middleburgh’s Cameryn Shultes.

The rest of the second team included Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Katie Stevens and Emma Cyr; Schoharie’s Arabella Donzielli, Allison Gallagher; Canajoharie’s Caitlyn Baker; Duanesburg’s Allison Michaltowski and Shannon Zink; Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Shacki Stuart; and Middleburgh’s Hallie Gasner.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Abigail Pasquini, Schoharie’s Haley Drinon; Canajoharie’s Gianna Memrick; Duanesburg’s Genevieve Rickert; Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Ava Holloway; and Middleburgh’s Kaitlyn Wood.

2022 Western Athletic Conference Softball All-Stars

MVP: Amber Kolpakas (Galway)

Section II All-Stars: Maddy Bland (Schoharie), Emma Crahan (Fonda-Fultonville), Alexis Broderick (Mayfield)

First Team

Kamryn Walton (Fonda-Fultonville), Madeline Mott (Fonda-Fultonville), Kaylee Egelston (Fonda-Fultonville), Sara Macrina (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Zoey Lounsbury (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Ashlee Stevens (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Trishelle Oliver (Galway), Alexis Rose (Galway), Marissa Wille (Mayfield), Heather Ginter (Mayfield), Kimmie Olsen (Schoharie), Amanda Stalker (Schoharie), Kirsten Hyney (Canajoharie), Tori Blakelee (Canajoharie), Victoria Silva (Duanesburg), Ella Sawitzki (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Cameryn Shultes (Middleburgh)

Second Team

Marilyn Whitcavitch (Fonda-Fultonville), Emma Powers (Fonda-Fultonville), Amber Cole (Fonda-Fultonville), Katie Stevens (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Emma Cyr (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Eliza Eagan (Galway), Abi Gullett (Galway), Alaina Aschmutat (Galway), Emily Senese (Mayfield), Katarina Agerter (Mayfield), Arabella Donzielli (Schoharie), Allison Gallagher (Schoharie), Caitlyn Baker (Canajoharie), Allison Michaltowski (Duanesburg), Shannon Zink (Duanesburg), Shacki Stuart (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Hallie Gasner (Middleburgh)

Honorable Mention

Taylor Ferrucci (Fonda-Fultonville), Abigail Pasquini (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Jalene Graham (Galway), Kelsey Meca (Mayfield), Haley Drinon (Schoharie), Gianna Memrick (Canajoharie), Genevieve Rickert (Duanesburg), Ava Holloway (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Kaitlyn Wood (Middleburgh)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply