Area girls’ lacrosse players named Foothills all-stars


Amsterdam’s Sydney Hoefs makes a pass in front of Scotia-Glenville’s Tia Jack during a  March 30 game.

The Johnstown and Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth girls’ lacrosse teams had several players named to the recently announced Foothills Council all-star teams.

Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth senior midfielder Sydney Hoefs and Johnstown senior midfielder Roslyn Chapin were named to the first team.

Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth senior attack Sophia Rogers and Johnstown junior midfielder Reegan Wilcox were named to the second team, while senior defender Olivia Fraser and sophomore midfielder Julia Dion were named honorable mention for Amsterdam/B-P.

Junior attack Nicole Simon and junior midfielder Molly Sweeney were named honorable mention for Johnstown.

Queensbury, which won the league and Section II Class B titles, had four players named to the first team. Senior midfielder Bridgit Duffy, sophomore defender Bayley Duffy, senior attack Delaney Donohue and junior midfielder Kendra Ballard all earned first-team for the Spartans, who reached the state Class B final before losing to Victor 14-5.

Senior midfielder Morgan Nichter, sophomore midfielder Karaline McCarthy and senior defender Kayla Cannoe were named to the first team for Scotia-Glenville, which won the league’s Sportsmanship Award.

Schuylerville, which won the Section II Class D title, had senior midfielder Eliza Barton, junior midfielder Macey Koval and junior midfielder Amanda Star Pflieger named to the first team.

Rounding out the first team were Glens Falls junior midfielder Ava Pirozzolo, South Glens Falls junior midfielder Jillian Willis and Greenwich junior midfielder MacKenzie Dixson.

In addition to its four first-team selections, Queensbury also had eighth-grade attack Kady Duffy, sophomore midfielder Kaitlyn Barton, junior attack Meredith Montgomery and senior defender Alexandria Murray named second-team all-stars.

Scotia-Glenville senior midfielder Lucy Crounse, junior goalie Maya Westbrook and junior defender Olympia Frisoni earned second-team honors, along with Schuylerville senior midfielder Sadie Tavares, senior goalie Anna Belden and junior attack Alayna Wian.

Rounding out the second-team honorees were Glens Falls junior midfielder Clara Avery, South Glens Falls freshman midfielder Addisyn Buckley and Greenwich senior goalie Ryan Skiff.

Senior goalie Lindsay Bauer and sophomore defender Katie Gannon earned honorable-mention status for Queensbury, while Schuylerville sophomore attack Anika Buff and senior attack Ella Welsh also were named honorable mention.

Scotia-Glenville had junior defender Maria Nardini and freshman attack Alice Nichter named honorable mention.

Completing the honorable-mention selections were South Glens Falls’ Lillian Willis (freshman, attack), Grace Hammel (senior, defense); Glens Falls’ Amanda Maurer (junior, defense) and Brooke Eggleston (freshman, attack); and Greenwich’s Maeve Kelleher (junior, midfield) and Mary Estramonte (senior, defense).

2022 Foothills Council Girls Lacrosse All-Stars
Sportsmanship Award: Scotia-Glenville
First Team
Attack: Delaney Donohue (Queensbury).

Midfield: Bridgit Duffy (Queensbury), Kendra Ballard (Queensbury), Sydney Hoefs (Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth), Roslyn Chapin (Johnstown), Morgan Nichter (Scotia-Glenville), Karaline McCarthy (Scotia-Glenville), Eliza Barton (Schuylerville), Macey Koval (Schuylerville), Amanda Star Pflieger (Schuylerville), Ava Pirozzolo (Glens Falls), Jillian Willis (South Glens Falls), MacKenzie Dixson (Greenwich).

Defense: Bayley Duffy (Queensbury), Kayla Cannoe (Scotia-Glenville).

Second Team
Attack: Kady Duffy (Queensbury), Meredith Montgomery (Queensbury), Sophia Rogers (Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth), Alayna Wian (Schuylerville).

Midfield: Kaitlyn Barton (Queensbury), Lucy Crounse (Scotia-Glenville), Reegan Wilcox (Johnstown),Sadie Tavares (Schuylerville), Clara Avery (Glens Falls), Addisyn Buckley (South Glens Falls).

Defense: Alexandria Murray (Queensbury), Olympia Frisoni (Scotia-Glenville).

Goalie: Maya Westbrook (Scotia-Glenville), Anna Belden (Schuylerville), Ryan Skiff (Greenwich).

Honorable Mention
Attack: Anika Buff (Schuylerville), Ella Welsh (Schuylerville), Alice Nichter (Scotia-Glenville), Lillian Willis (South Glens Falls), Brooke Eggleston (Glens Falls), Nicole Simon (Johnstown).

Midfield: Julia Dion (Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth), Maeve Kelleher (Greenwich), Molly Sweeney (Johnstown).

Defense: Katie Gannon (Queensbury), Maria Nardini (Scotia-Glenville), Grace Hammel (South Glens Falls), Amanda Maurer (Glens Falls), Mary Estramonte (Greenwich), Olivia Fraser (Amsterdam/Broadalbin-Perth).

Goalie: Lindsay Bauer (Queensbury). 

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply