Mary Hardin-Baylor wins D-III title

SHENANDOAH, Texas (AP) — Jase Hammack threw for 147 yards and two touchdowns, Markeith Miller rushed for 90 yards and a score and Mary Hardin-Baylor won its second Division III national title in three years, beating defending champion Mount Union 24-16 on Friday night.

Hammack rebounded after losing a fumble in the first that led to the Purple Raiders’ lone touchdown by completing 11 of 19 passes and rallying the Crusaders (15-0) from a 10-0 deficit. T.J. Josey caught five passes for 78 yards and a touchdown for Mary Hardin-Baylor, which lost to the Raiders (14-1) 12-0 last year in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl.

Hammack also rushed for 44 yards.

D’Angelo Fulford was 18 of 37 for 194 yards and rushed for 45 yards, and had a 1-yard touchdown run to put Mount Union up 10-0 with 3 1/2 minutes left in the first quarter. Josh Petruccelli added 57 rushing yards and Justin Hill caught five passes for 71 yards for the Raiders. Both teams finished with 303 yards.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply